The Orang Ulu Tribe of Sarawak

Sarawak, one of the states in Malaysia, is a land of many races living in harmony with each despite the differences in culture, languages, food and many more.

The map of Sarawak. Retrieved from

According to Journey Malaysia,

The orang ulu are made up of a few tribes namely the Kenyah, Kayan, Klemantan, Kelabit, the Lun Bawang, Penan as well as a few minor tribes in the interior. Orang Ulu, means the “up-river dwellers” mainly living in Central Borneo, which accounts for 5.5% of the population.

However, among these tribes, the three major tribes are the Kenyah, Kayan and Kelabit. A detail explanation on these tribes will be explain in the future posts.

Reference list:

Journey Malaysia. (2013). The Orang Ulu – Sarawak. Retrieved from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s